The government is expected to set up air bridges and to give countries red, green or amber status depending on how safe they are.

The government is preparing to announce that people travelling from certain countries will no longer be required to self-isolate for 14 days on arrival – meaning people will be able to go on holiday there.

The government plans to introduce a traffic light system that would classify countries as safe or otherwise, depending on the prevalence of coronavirus.

Countries will either be graded green, meaning they are safer than the UK; amber, meaning they are less safe than green countries; or red, which will result in any passengers returning from them still needing to isolate for a fortnight.

It comes as the European Union also finalises a list of countries whose citizens will be allowed to enter.

Countries most likely to be included are as follows:

France Greece Spain Italy Turkey Croatia Germany Belgium Holland.

An announcement from the UK Government is expected next week.